Re-focus

Born with Fairy Tales available left and right, having to hope for a Prince Charming who would sweep my feet away, find and deliver the missing glass slipper to my house and will magically transform into the princess I always hoped for. I was searching romantic movies to watch and relieve my broken heart, hoping to find the next #RelationshipGoals. During these period as well, if you happen to gaze upon my Spotify playlist would make you think I am a gangster member with my song choices, some of them had explicit words, it makes me feel good – empowered (at some point) but incomplete. I have been feeding my soul with these (sorry for my word but I can’t think of anything to use, so for the lack of it…) trash. Yes, you heard me right.

One day, out of the blue, something came up to me and I deleted the gangstah playlist, heartbroken playlist, dancing playlist and any other playlist that close caption my feelings of hurt, pain and many others. You might ask if it [the song choice above] did help at all? Yes, it helped me ignite the fuel that causes the big fire of 2016. Was it a good help? NO, not at all GOOD (sad reality).

I started browsing for Christian songs and created a playlist also I turned my focus on finding Christian movies (and if you happen to know one and would recommend it to be watched, please do so. I’d love to see them). It is going on for a few days now, and the results are different as compared to listening to songs with explicit languages.

With this re-focus I decided to make, I felt God more. It was when I came to truly understand what Philippians 4:8 said:

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”

I realized, at this point in time where anything can corrupt our mind — we have to be very careful of what we choose to hear or watch. Why? because they are beeing fed not only to our minds but our souls as well. If we feed it with lies then we will live with those lies, and what is very concerning is that those lies will be imbued in our hearts — instead of God’s word.

I am not saying we should completely strip ourselves with movies or such and not enjoy these things, but to do it in moderation. Being very careful (and picky) of what we watch or listen cause the enemy may use it against us. Let us ask for God’s help — we cannot do this alone. Let us ask Him to give us the wisdom and knowledge to discern what will be good for our heart and soul. 🙂


Share the word. Share the gospel. To God be the glory.

Leave a Reply

