What are Ways To Die?

It’s weekend again and it means no other than rest (Yehey!). So I use my streaming account, again, to kill time – maybe entertain myself, laugh (or cry) a bit (depending on which series I chose to watch this time, haha!). As I browse and look for my next target, my eyes caught this particular series that I know for sure will tickle my funny bone – and maybe based on our title you may have guessed the series I watched over the weekend. Yes! it is no other than 1000 days to die (I’m sorry, I know it’s an old series – actually when I told my youngest brother, who is about to graduate college, that I am watching – he told me he already watched this when he was still in high school. Haha!).

The first episode made me think: (one) accidents can happen anytime so be careful, (two) if you don’t use your brain correctly your demise is certain so think not only twice but as many as you can about what you are about to do and (three) the series is morbid so don’t watch if you’re not fond of seeing people burst into pieces (I’m sorry if I painted that picture into your mind. Nevertheless, you’ve been warned if you decided to watch this later). It was a no-brainer show, perfect for past time. I continued watching not because of the gory details of their death, but I am rather hoping to be educated of ways a person could die, so when I am in that certain situation myself, I won’t be making the same mistakes that they did (No, erase that. I will not even think of putting myself in that situation).

Some episodes are funny and I feel bad for laughing because they end up dead (I don’t think it’s right but it’s just plain funny – or maybe because they re-enacted it to be that way). Some episodes you feel bad because I think there is more to his/her life than just that, if only they used their brain, they surely wasted a good life. And for most of the episodes, I admit, I don’t really feel sympathetic towards the character that had died – honestly speaking they deserved it, because they’re about to bring more harm than good (Yup, plain evil)But of course who am I to judge, maybe there is good deep within them its just that they eventually run out of chance (?). Then, I asked myself is that all I could learn? Am I just watching this to learn from other people’s demise and made sure I won’t put myself (or others) to that situation? Or simply just for entertainment? And after a few more episodes in Season 3, this certain verse came up to me:

“For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” –  Romans 6:23 (KJV)

Then it hit me, this series literally shows (or showed if you watched it already) us the wages of our sins – death! Pronto! Each of the episodes being shown are like grand parade of greed, pride, lust, sloth, wrath, gluttony, and envy. I’m not sure if it may have become their way of life but surely, and obviously, it was a choice they made. The series was actually deeper than I thought. We may make fun of their deaths, but if our eternal demise is also death then we have a really serious problem.

First of all, we are no different to those characters in the episodes of the show – we are all sinners. I know it is a bit hard to hear that but darling, it is true, you and I, we are all sinners (Romans 3:23)Fortunately, “Someone” has already paid our debts for us, so that we can be saved from eternal death (Romans 5:8). You heard me right, there is a way (John 14:6) and all we have to do is as simple as ABC:

  • Admit that we are a sinner, we have to repent and confess our sins – just tell God everything;
  • Believe that Jesus Christ is our only Savior – the Son of God who came down to earth to pay for our sins. Believe that you are forgiven by His love and His grace. Believe that God loves you so much; and last but not the least,
  • Commit your life to God. A decision you will never ever regret. Committing your life to God – having a relationship with Him, letting Him move to Your life every single day.

Now if you are choosing life over death, you may say this simple prayer with me.

My dear Father in heaven, all glory and praises are Yours alone.

My Father, I humbly come before you, stained with the sins of this world. Dying each day. Unworthy and unclean. My Father, I come to humbly ask for forgiveness for all the sins I’ve done in the past – for all my transgressions that kept me apart from You. I’m sorry. I’m sorry. Jesus, I accept You as my personal Lord and Savior. That You died for my sins on that cross. That You died for me to have a possibility of relationship with God. 

Thank You, Father,  for giving me this chance to know You and have an intimate relationship with You through Jesus. Thank You for giving us Your only Son to die on the cross, to pay for all my sins. Thank You that now I can come to You and call You as my Father. I don’t know what the future may hold, but I am committing myself to You. Thank You Father, for the cross, for Your Son, for Your unending grace and Your marvelous love. Thank You for looking out for me.

Clean my heart, Oh Lord. Move me where You want me to be, I am afraid – but I will trust in You – Maker of the stars. Thank You Father! Thank You for the forgiveness and the grace. Thank You! I am now Yours.

In Jesus Name. Amen.

Congratulations! Today is the beginning of your new life with God! Your debt (sin) has been paid. I highly suggest looking for a local church and start to be discipled. I am very happy you have made this important decision in your life. Again, Congratulations! ðŸ™‚

 

Sources: Becoming a Christian can be as easy as A-B-C!, Grace Church Mentor

Leave a Reply

