Quarter Life Crisis

By God’s grace, I am existing for 25 years. Admittedly, I also had my fair share of the ever so famous quarter life crisis around the same time last year. I thought it was just a myth (maybe it is) that was created to scare you from the monster called life. Unknowingly, I have succumbed to it and it ever so effortlessly made me question my very existence here on planet earth.

I was unsure of the purpose of experiencing this crisis – maybe because we have already lived for two decades and a half, our wholebeing wants to press pause? Maybe it was to prepare us for the coming decades of our lives? Maybe to humble us and make us remember who we really are? One could only speculate about its reasons but when it hit you, it will hit you hard and low.

During this particular season of my life, I have become so insecure. Every problem, no matter how small it is, will be magnified as if you’re using 100x magnification on a microscope (I miss science classes). Seemingly, you question every decision you made that placed you to where you are now – Did I choose the correct career path? Should I pursue this rather than that? Am I in the right relationship or Will I ever be in a relationship? When will I get married? Will I have kids? Wait – I don’t have anything yet. How will I create my own family if I can’t even polish my own life. Is this it? Nothing more? Will I forget my childhood? Am I just a blip in the existence of earth?

It is surely one of the many points in your life wherein you will stare blankly into space and think about life. It will shake you in ways you could never imagine. Ask questions you never thought you would ask. Worry about things that is yet to come. And did I say it will hit you hard? Ah yes, I said that already. I’m reiterating because apart from the good old existential crisis our family is also facing cancer scare – which is like a domino because of it we had financial issues. More over, I am being haunted by my greatest (at the moment) fear and it was fogetting about my parents when I’m about to start a family of my own – to neglect them and be so focused on creating life that the next day, they’re gone and I won’t be seeing them anymore. I’m almost at my breaking point. I was restless.

Fortunately, we have someone we can depend on. In Matthew 11:28, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”. And most of the times we just really need to rest, lift up our worries to God and let Him do the hard work. When I needed rest, God helped me relax by sending me to a Family Camp. It was so serene out there. I get to spend time with not only my friends but most especially with God. One of the best things was just sitting on this giant swing, slowly swaying back and forth along with my dangling feet, listening to classical music and just closing my eyes. Not only did He refreshed my emotional and physical restlessness, He also refreshed my spiritual needs – I can say that is the turning point of my life, when I really learned to let go. And not only that, by His grace, our cancer scare was just about it – a scare – nothing more. Before we even know it, we are back to our feet in no time – and it is all thanks to God! All glory and praise to His name.

“The LORD will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.” – ‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭58:11‬ ‭NIV‬‬

I think we are faced with many problems not to break us – I don’t think our loving Father would let us break. I think it is to make us depend on Him. To trust Him of His plans for our lives. It is made to strengthen us for the next decades and seasons to come. That instead of worrying, which is the easiest thing to do, we should “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” – ‭‭Romans‬ ‭12:12‬ ‭NIV‬‬. No matter what happens, God is in control.

All other crisis in life may come shake us and hit us – just hold fast to God’s promise of a future full of hope (Jeremiah 29:11). Learn to dance along with the waves. Offer your burden to God’s feet. Remember, this too shall pass – nothing is impossible with God (Matthew 19:26). 

Leave a Reply

