Where Miracles Start

Prayer has always been a means for us to communicate with God, but I think it is so much more than that…

I never really understood the rationale behind praying – all I know is that I talk to God about what I want and when I want it. In my years of existence here, there came a point that prayer has become repeated chants – only if I remember to pray. It’ll just be about two to three sentences long and most of the time, as embarrassing it is to admit, “Amen” will be said the following morning – because I have slept while praying. I cannot even keep praying straight for a week, unless I needed something in which I will even pray on my knees just to get what I want. But right after having it, I would go back to the pray-no pray-cycle. I even remember having these (Crazy? Or funny? You decide, haha!) notions during my childhood: The first one was to pray only in the English language so I won’t have nightmares (apparently the 5-year old me believed that praying in my native language causes bad dreams) and another is to pray before eating because not praying leads to choking (I know, I had wild imagination back then. I don’t even know how I came up with those. lol!). Even worse is that at one point, I forgot how to pray (Yes, I know, that’s weird). My prayer life was a complete and utter disaster.

Thankfully, slowly, as time goes by – and even until now – God taught me how, why and whom should we pray, fervently. He uses situations from trivial ones to relevant ones just to teach me a point or two about prayer. From my first realization until now, our journey of rediscovering prayer has been really fruitful. And in this post, I’d like to share with you one of the many reasons why we should pray.

We all know that prayer is a our way of communicating with God. And this is the basic reason why we pray. Like any other relationships, communication is one of the key ingredients for it to thrive. Praying is the time when we get to tell God what is going on with our minds, what are we thinking about and most importantly listen, with the intent to follow, to what He is saying. It is a two-way communication – We talk, God listens. God talk, we listen. It is also one way of humbly asking God for directions and Him pointing us out to the right ones.

Matthew 7:7-8 says “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.“. Now because we can communicate with Him, we can tell God the desires of our hearts – what we don’t know, at that very moment of asking Him and trusting Him – the magic begins.

When you ask, seek and believe for it, you shall receive. I highlighted shall because I don’t want to confuse you into saying that all you’ve asked for will be given to you. Believe me, most of the times our desires are selfish (I’m not judging any of you – this is me. Because for the most part of my prayer it is asking of my desires – which I would later on realize is very selfish) and might cause us more harm than good – but that doesn’t mean we don’t ask of Him – we ask for us to be guided as to what we really want and what is really good.

Isaiah 55:8-9 says For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”. You might argue with me, “Why is it a start of a miracle when God doesn’t give me what I want? You said ask, I asked yet I did not receive any”. My dear, your heart is the miracle – it starts a motion in our heart – it changes us more than our desires, wants and needs. You might not even notice it but you’ve started becoming patient, you’ve started trusting Him, you’ve started having faith – believing every promises He has made will soon come true. You’ll have peace and joy that no matter what the answer is to what you’ve prayed for – You know that He loves you so much to give you something that will harm you and is not for you.

Prayers starts a motion in our hearts – a miracle only done by Him. And that miracle – that magic – is our life change. We are the miracle. 

Prayer is powerful more than we imagined it would be. Sometimes we underestimate it, using it as our last line of defense, but more than that: it makes our heart closer to God, it humbles us, it gives us peace, it gives us joy and it honors and praise God. I pray we would all use this defense wisely – it doesn’t matter if you’ve just started to pray now or you have been praying for so long – what matters is that you come to Him, you seek of Him, you inquire of Him with all humility and pure heart.

Prayer is more than a means to communicate, it starts a miracle in us.


My Prayer:

My Father, first of all we are sorry if we had a shallow notion of what prayer is. Thank You for rescuing our thoughts, for making us realize the power of prayer. We humbly ask that You teach us how to use it wisely and consistently – not to pray only when thing get worse or out of hand but even before that, when things are good.

Help us develop a consistent habit of communicating with You and inquiring of You. And in the process change us to the person You see us to be. Set a motion in our hearts that nothing can stop. We pray each person who will come to You will experience Your peace and most certainly Your unending love – just as we have experienced it.

Teach us to pray for one another, to cover our family, friends, church, community, school, office, country, leaders and the whole world in our prayer and even those who have hurt and afflicted us.

Thank You that prayer is not just a means to communicate with You, but it is so much more. Again, thank You Lord. In Jesus Name. Amen.


NOTE: Hi guys! If you, yes you!, are in need of prayer – please do not hesitate to message me here or in my other social media accounts. You may use the Contact Page. The name field is required but if you are uneasy about telling your name, you may just simple put “Anonymous”, then just choose Prayer Request on the drop down list (so I’ll know it’s for me to pray for) and type in your prayer requests. As soon as I got a hold of it, I’ll pray for you.

Now, I encourage you to pray for others too as there many people who needs it more than we imagined. Let’s start this prayer movement! God bless you guys and thank You for reading my blog! Also, Sorry for the long hiatus. haha!

1 thought on “Where Miracles Start”

Leave a Reply

