Devotional: Closer Than You Know

I was having a not so good week and was very down for no apparent reason. One night, when I was praying – I just bursted into tears. I tried to find words to say but there were nothing for how I felt at that moment. I cannot understand why, but it felt like God is far away from me and I am alone.

Morning came, I decided to crank up my iPod and listen to worship songs – hoping I could lift up my spirit. Out of all the songs on shuffle, this song hit me hard. Each verse, stanza, and word pierce through my heart as if God was the one talking to me – immediately peace and joy came. I felt secured and loved.

Now I wanted to share with you the experience that I had. I urge you to try and listen to this beautiful song – feel God’s presence.

“I tempered the storm
Though your faith was small
I prayed while you slept
And the night waged war
We stood in the fire
And we walked on sea
And we drank of the wine
That was made of Me”

J: There are times we let our feelings cloud our judgement. Our faith crashes downhill at the speed of light, the moment we feel things won’t go our way. Even if we already know and experienced God’s greatness and even though He was with us when fire tried to consumed us but did not, when the sea tried to drown us but did not – doubt still creeps in and we are left anxious and worried.

“Don’t turn your eyes from Me
For My love won’t be undone
Don’t hide your face from Me
For My light has surely come
Surely come surely come”

J: God knows it’ll happen – that a time will come everything will overwhelm us, that’s why He gives us His assurance. Even if the cloud makes our vision hazy, that even if we feel abandoned and unloved, that even if we feel shameful for the sins we’ve done – just focus on Him. Because no matter how impossible things maybe right now, surely His goodness, love, and light will come. Nothing, not even the enemy can stop Him from saving us. So don’t hide your face from Him, all the more reason to focus on Him.

“I carried that cross
And I felt your pain
I took up your crown
And I wore your shame
And death was a fire
And its teeth were grim
But I left it behind
Along with all your sin”

J: We think God won’t feel our pain. But we forgot, Jesus became man and went through what we are going through. He felt pain, shame, and even faced death just to save us. He endured all this because He loves us. He faced death and overcame. So the next time you say God doesn’t understand, He does – He knows our pain.

“Don’t turn away from Me
For My love won’t be undone
Don’t hide your face from Me
For My light has surely come
Surely Come surely come”

J: When things are hard and we feel like giving up – hold fast to Him, don’t hide from Him. Let His light shine at you and give you peace. Never will His love be undone. Sometimes, He’s just teaching us how to depend on Him and not on other people or things.

“Lift up your eyes and see
Heaven is closer than you know
Lift up your voice and sing
Know that My love won’t let you go
And I won’t forsake you

Lift up your eyes and see
Heaven is closer than you know
Know I’ll never leave you
So lift up your voice and sing
Know that My love won’t let you go”

J: Want to cry? Of course we can. But we must not dwell on it for a long time – look up to Him and sing praises even when it hurts and even when it doesn’t seem to make sense. It’s hard, I know, just remember He won’t ever leave us nor forsake us (Deuteronomy. 31:6) and that His love is unchanging.

“And My light has surely come
Surely come surely come
And I’m closer than you know
And I’m closer than you know”

J: Problems and troubles overwhelm us and makes us feel He is drawing far from us. But it is just a feeling, never did He depart. He is closer than we could ever imagine. Closer than we could ever feel. 

“Lord I hear You I know You’re there
Closer now than my skin and bones could dare
Breathing deep within me
You are always with me

I can see You where eyes can’t stare
Brighter now than the sun could ever dare
Breathing all around me
God I know You’re with me here

Lord I hear You I know You’re there
Closer now than my skin and bones could dare
Breathing deep within me
You are always with me

I can see You where eyes can’t stare
Brighter now than the sun could ever dare
Breathing all around me
God I know that You are here”

J: I love this part, it felt like this is the proper response after really understanding how close God is to us. There is peaceful in knowing that He is always with us. There is a feeling of completeness and contentment. The intimacy between God and us is far better than any relationship we could have here on earth.

“For I’m Yours and You are mine
And my soul knows well
You are here”

J: We as His children should know better that He is ours and we are His. That He won’t leave us, that our soul shall be still and at peace with just His presence. That these problem may overwhelm us but we have a big God, greater than all the things that wants to bring us down. And we should not stop at knowing, we should also share the experience with other people who are hurting and in pain. We should introduce them to the Prince of Peace.

“You are here
And my soul will praise You
And my soul will praise Your Name
Singing Holy is Your Name
Jesus
Jesus”

J: Finally, understanding His love brings us to our knees just praising, glorifying Him and giving all the honor to His name, Jesus. It makes us cry, but now in joy. It makes our heart truly grateful. Always remember, He will meet us whenever or wherever we are, just call on His name – He is here, closer than we know.

NOTE: Prayer requests? You may use our contact page! God bless you!
Leave a Reply

