You Are Loved

Hey girl! I want you to do something for me. Is that ok? I want you to say this phrase out loud – ‘I am loved.’ Now could you repeat it again? Nice! One last. Perfect! It’s one thing to know and another to understand that you, out of all the people in this world, are loved. Hopefully towards the end, we could come to an understanding of this phrase, I am sure there would be a realization that will blow your mind and will warm your hearts.

I was blessed to attend one of our church events last month – Ladies Night. We all know something is going to happen when we put all the women in just one room. I was excited to attend because of the chance to mingle with other ladies, of course learn things about womanhood and what makes it so special. True enough, that night was so encouraging, I went home with a renewed mindset and my heart was filled with the understanding of the phrase ‘I am loved’. 

There has always been a part in my heart that whispers that we, women, are made for a special purpose and Psalm 46:5 validated it. Maybe this verse is just really for us because we tend to carry so much that it becomes bigger than us. We tend to overthink even with the smallest details – like what color of eyeliner to be used, from the biggest ones – like choosing a lifetime partner. We tend to very emotional too and we almost remember anything – good or bad.

“God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day.” – Psalm‬ ‭46:5 (NIV)

Personally, I enjoy and I love being a woman. It is such blessing and a special calling to be one – to be given the responsibility of being the helpmate. But with the enjoyment comes our “moments”. Honestly, I, myself never really understood what it meant to be loved. Coming from a season of rejection – it has, definitely, affected how I look and perceive myself. With such low self-esteem and a lot of insecurities, it is hard for me to understand even believe that I am loved. I mean who would? I’m overweight, I have pimple scars like a teenager (which made people think I’m just a teen when I’m already 25), and I have the worst temper – I am far from perfect. I don’t know about you but I ask myself “Am I beautiful?”. Somehow, we link that notion – if we feel beautiful, we feel loved. Sadly, we tend to look at ourselves in the eyes of this world.

Am I beautiful? Yes, you are beautiful because God created you. Remember, we are created in His own image and likeness (Genesis 1:27). I liked how Ms. Tammie Sy used Psalm 139:14-16 in MSG version, to help us realize this point. She said read this aloud in front of a mirror and put emphasis on “Oh yes! What a creation!”. Sometimes we tend to forget who we really are, we are the princesses of God. The enemy will always tell us to look at ourselves the way this world sees us, the Truth is we should see ourselves the way God sees us – for He created us fearfully and wonderfully.

Am I beautiful? Yes, you are beautiful because the ugliest part of you has been taken away by the cross. There is no arguing about this. Jesus has paid the price for you and me. He died on the cross to save us. He took our sins, the ugliest of the ugliest of us. So whenever God looks at us, He does not see our sins – what we’ve done or who we were – He sees the beauty of Jesus in us. So yes, you are beautiful.

Am I beautiful? Yes, you are most beautiful when you are living out your mission. If we obey God with all our hearts in humility and willingness, we glow in such a way that His light emanates from us. And that beauty is not easily taken away by the world. We shine like stars at night when we live out our purpose. We give light to people in darkness when we follow God’s voice and command. Yes it may be challenging, but we must remember His grace is sufficient (2 Corinthians 12:9) for us to do anything He called us to be. There is something fulfilling when we live out our purpose.

My dear, you are loved no matter what – you know what that means? You are enough. The world may say otherwise, but we just have to focus on that still small voice that says, You are enough. You don’t need any validation from anyone or anything of this world. We don’t need social media likes, we don’t need thousands of Instagram followers, we don’t need retweets – just to validate our worth. My dear, our worth is only found in Christ – and nothing will ever take that away from us. The world may fail us, people may leave us, followers may unfollow us – but that doesn’t matter – all that matters is God loves you, you are enough.

So frown not my girl friend – you have been saved by grace, you have been bought at a price – now live your purpose, let our beauty shine in this world.

2 thoughts on “You Are Loved

Leave a Reply

